Easy weeknight dinner

I love this recipe because it’s so easy, quick and filling. Plus it’s budget friendly and can be eaten cold. You will need:

1 large red onion

1 head of broccoli (I used organic)

1 red bell pepper

2 cloves garlic

Sesame oil

Soy sauce

*Other vegetables that work well are snow peas, mangetout, baby corn – I hate baby corn because it sucks, sprouts, bean sprouts etc.

For the satay -ish sauce:

1 can coconut milk (don’t go cheap on this, it makes a difference)

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter or almond butter

1/4 cup chunky peanut butter or sesame paste

1 1/2 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce

1 tbsp rice vinegar

3 tbsp soy sauce

I chopped up the veggies and stir fried them in a few splashes of sunflower oil and a small splash of sesame oil, add the soya sauce:

Image

I then turned the heat off and made the saTay sauce in a saucepan over a low heat, just till everything mixed in together. I then took this off the heat and added it too the stir friend veggies, turning the heat onto medium for about two to three mins. I tipped it onto a plate and added an amazing Japanese seasoning, bought ready made, called gomashio. It’s basically salt and black sesame seeds. I also made rice noodles but it’s up to you.

Image

2 thoughts on “Easy weeknight dinner

Leave a comment